Annual Awards and Elections

Date and Time: 
Thursday, May 29, 2014 - 7:00pm
Dumbarton House 2715 Q Street NW
Reception at 7pm; Program at 7:30pm

Mayor Gray, Jack Evans, CAG Awards and Elections on May 29 at Dumbarton House

Mayor Gray and Councilmember Jack Evans will be the featured speakers at CAG’s annual awards and elections meeting on Thursday, May 29. They will present CAG’s prestigious awards to outstanding community leaders. The reception and meeting will be hosted by historic Dumbarton House at 2715 Q Street.

Councilmember for Ward 2 since 1991, Jack serves as chair of the Council’s Committee on Finance and Revenue, which oversees the District’s finances, including tax policy.  In addition to earning a reputation as one of DC’s toughest budget and tax stewards, Jack has used this committee to secure approval of many major legislative tax reforms including: reducing tax rates, simplifying DC’s antiquated tax code and establishing incentives for businesses. His comments on the “State of Georgetown” are always lively and enlightening.

Annual Awards: The prestigious Belin Award will be presented to Bill Starrels for his expert and dedicated work in preserving the historic character of Georgetown. 

Walter Groszyk will be honored with the William A. Cochran Award for “exceptional efforts to protect and enhance the community’s parkland and architectural resources.” 
The Charles Atherton Award will be presented to Jennifer Steingasser, Deputy Director of Historic Preservation Office, for “exceptional service by a dedicated public-sector professional for outstanding work preserving and protecting historic Georgetown.” 

The Martin-Davidson Award to the business persons who have contributed significantly to the community will be presented to BID Director Joe Sternlieb and the entire BID staff.

And there will be a special appreciation award presented to Parking Officer Steven Starks for dedicated and distinguished Service to the Georgetown community.

Election of CAG officers and four directors will also take place at the May 29 meeting – which is the organization’s annual meeting.  The slate is Pamla Moore, President; Bob vom Eigen, Vice President; Barbara Downs, Secretary; Treasurer, John Richardson; and directors Karen Cruse, Hazel Denton, Hannah Isles, and Luca Pivato. Treasurer Bob Laycock will report on the financial condition of the organization.

Please join CAG to hear from the Mayor and Jack Evans and to honor the members of our community who have made Georgetown a better place. The reception begins at 7 pm at beautiful Dumbarton House at 2715 Q Street and you are invited to tour the museum beginning at 6:30. The meeting, the last one until September, begins at 7:30.

Click on "Membership" to view the slate for CAG Officers and Directors 2014-2015

Citizens Association of Georgetown is a non-profit civic organization representing the interests of Georgetown residents. CAG’s members, programs, and advocacy make Georgetown safer, more beautiful, and more connected.

Please support our efforts:


Want to Get CAG Emails?

Enter your email here to receive announcements about our meetings and events.